Autumnal Auckland

Arriving in Auckland I was met by grey skies and high winds – definitely not in the tropical north of Australia anymore! I only had a couple of days to explore the city, though when I leave New Zealand I will be returning so I should have some more time then. On my first day I went to the Auckland Art Gallery – they were in the middle of changing quite a few exhibits, but there was still plenty to see. The Maori portraits in particular where wonderful. The gallery backs on to Albert Park where I wandered amongst the trees covered in orange and red leaves, it feels very odd to have Autumn in June! I spent the rest of the day walking around town, getting some warmer clothes and seeing the city, though the rain eventually won. I sheltered in St. Patrick’s Cathedral for a while before resorting to hot chocolate opposite the Civic Theatre.


The next morning the weather had worsened – pouring rain and blustery winds made for an interesting ferry ride to Waiheke Island, where one of my friends from university, Tara, is living at the moment. Waiheke was beautiful even in the rain, we only explored a small part of the island, but it was great. We walked amongst the wineries up to the headland where on most days you can see the city (it was cloaked in thick fog). We visited two of Waiheke’s famous wineries, tasting some excellent wine. The island first started producing wine because someone realised it had a very similar climate to Bordeaux. After enjoying the views we walked into town to get some food – delicious oysters and ribs at the restaurant where Tara works. If you ever find yourself in Auckland I would definitely recommend the trip out to Waiheke, it is a little bit of paradise so close to the centre of the city. 


I now start my journey south, next stop thermal Rotorua.

Leave a comment